Category: logging

Photo: logging by Middlefork Nooksack River. A Central…

Photo: logging by Middlefork Nooksack River.

A Central Washington University study states that climate change will increase landslides in logging areas.

Read more here:
http://www.chronline.com/news/wsu-study-climate-change-will-mean-more-landslides-on-logged/article_7f3bcce4-c972-11e7-8ebb-076b080c6541.html

Copyright: Centralia Chronicle
Photo credit: me

Photo: Mt. Baker from Yellow Aster Butte. A new company has…

Photo: Mt. Baker from Yellow Aster Butte.

A new company has assumed responsibility for the stewardship of Mount Galbraith.

Read more here:
http://www.bellinghamherald.com/news/local/article159919709.html

Copyright: Bellingham Herald
Photo credit: me

Photo: Port Townsend during storm in the daytime. Blanchard…

Photo: Port Townsend during storm in the daytime.

Blanchard mountain news brief: Urgent new action needed. Sadly, last week the state Senate did not adopt an amendment for the capital budget funding that would keep Blanchard Mountain from being clearcut this summer. Nevertheless we still have a window to act. See details below – and thank you for helping to save this treasured area.

NEW ACTION ALERT – Blanchard Mountain

We urgently need your help to save Blanchard from clear cutting.
Unfortunately, the Senate Capital Budget Bill does not fund the Blanchard Strategies Agreement.
The House Capital Budget comes out THIS WEEK. If Blanchard is not in the House Budget, funding Blanchard later will be an uphill battle.
TODAY – Please call or email YOUR Representatives, Capital Budget Committee members, and the Speaker of the House.
TELL THEM WHY BLANCHARD IS IMPORTANT TO YOU AND YOUR DISTRICT AND TO FULLY FUND BLANCHARD.

Find YOUR Representatives here: app.leg.wa.gov/districtfinder

Speaker of the House, Frank Chopp (D-43rd) / (360) 786-7920 / frank.chopp@leg.wa.gov

Members of the House Capital Budget Committee:
· Chairman, Steve Tharinger (D-24th) /(360) 786-7904
steve.tharinger@leg.wa.gov

· Vice Chair, Beth Doglio (D-22nd) / (360) 786-7992 / beth.doglio@leg.wa.gov

· Vice Chair, Strom Peterson (D-21st) / (360) 786-7950 / strom.peterson@leg.wa.gov

· Ranking Minority Member, Richard DeBolt (R-20th) / (360) 786-7896 / richard.debolt@leg.wa.gov

· Asst. Ranking Minority Member, Norma Smith (R-10th) / (360) 786-7884 / norma.smith@leg.wa.gov

· John Koster (R-39th) / (360) 786-7816 / john.koster@leg.wa.gov

· Jeff Morris (D-40th) / (360) 786-7970 / jeff.morris@leg.wa.gov

HELPFUL WEB SITES:
· Skagit Land Trust: Blanchard Mountainaction web page.

· Conservation Northwest: Blanchard Mountain action web page.